Home
Sign Up
Prices
Coverage
Support
News
About Us
 

 

Interpreting Mail Headers

All of us receive email from persons who wish to remain anonymous: especially spammers. Often such email will have a false email address in the header, etc. but there are ways to determine its origin: In Outlook Express, to see where the message actually came from:
  1. Right-click on the message
  2. Click on Properties
  3. Click on the Details tab

Displayed here is the header of the email message. It contains information about what program was used to send the email, what servers were used, the date and time, and a few other nicknacks. An example header:

Return-Path: <bob@bobsdomain.com>
Delivered-To: j0ej1mb0b@mail.pennswoods.net
Received: from bobscomp (du81-639584.dialupat.pennswoods.net [63.95.84.81])
by mail.pennswoods.net (Postfix) with SMTP id 7B50823F638
for <j0ej1mb0b@pennswoods.net>; Fri, 1 Jun 2001 07:44:15 -0400 (EDT)
Message-ID: <003c21f0ea9b$dcf493c0$11545f9f@bobscomp>
From: "Bob Baughb" <bob@bobsdomain.com>
To: <j0ej1mb0b@pennswoods.net>
Subject: Re: hi
Date: Tue, 29 May 2001 09:37:49 -0400
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="iso-8859-1"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 5.00.2314.1300
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V5.00.2314.1300
Status:


This person is on a Pennswoods.net dial-up account using IP address 63.95.84.81 which resolves to the name du81-639584.dialupat.pennswoods.net; thus the domain it was sent from is pennswoods.net. The message was sent using the server mail.pennswoods.net. The "name" of the computer used to send this message is probably bobscomp. The message was sent using Outlook Express 5.00. Here is an actual spam header:

From elissabeth3408@hotmail.com Tue May 15 09:46:39 2001
Received: from [216.97.198.232] by hotmail.com (3.2) with ESMTP id MHotMailBCCAA5F700634004318FD861C6E8078216; Tue May 15 09:46:19 2001
Received: from tot-tn.proxy.aol.com (tot-tn.proxy.aol.com [152.163.207.1]) by rly-ip01.mx.aol.com (8.8.8/8.8.8/AOL-5.0.0) with ESMTP id VAA14375; Tue, 15 May 2001 12:09:38 -0400 (EDT)
From: <elissabeth3408@hotmail.com>
Message-Id: <2nHp-.2nHyh.2nHyR.2nHphl.2nHph.2nHpR.2n1s89.2n1sa2.2n1QxoRCdyw@Received: from rly-yc01.mx.aol.com>
Subject: look..i was just kidding
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset="us-ascii"
Date: Tue, 15 May 2001 12:44:05
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Apparently-From: Mikeotepiee@aol.com


This message appears to have been actually sent from the IP 216.97.198.232, which resolves to 216-97-198-232.ppp.mpinet.net - you may use this utility; it appears to be a dial-up on the mpinet.net domain. Upon going to that ISP's website, I see a contact page showing me the address to report aduse to is abuse@mpinet.net. Hopefully they have some access logs to determine who was using that IP at that time and can prevent this user from future spamming.

On a side note, Mikeotepiee@aol.com may be the identity of the AOL user; I could also contact AOL about this. While I cannot tell anything about the true identity of the sender except what he specified as his name and reply address; I can see what ISP he's connected to, what email server he used to send the message, when it was sent, etc. Using this information I can contact the administrators of the ISP and/or administrators of the mail server that was used. Usually abuse@domain.com, admin@domain.com, postmaster@domain.com, or webmaster@domain.com will put you in contact with the appropriate people.

One way to determine who to contact is to look up the domain on Network Solutions. Go to http://www.networksolutions.com/cgi-bin/whois/whois and type in the domain name the email was sent from, then click Search. If you selected a valid domain that is listed on Network solutions, information on the domain registrant will be displayed. Good luck!